Invitation to the 39th Scandinavian Symposium on Physical Acoustics

The 39th Scandinavian Symposium on Physical Acoustics will be held at Geilo Hotel from January 31 to February 3, 2016. This year it is organised by Ulf Kristiansen and Erlend Viggen, both at ARC. The theme for the meeting will as usual be physical acoustics, with emphasis on hydroacoustics, nonlinear acoustics, ultrasound, general sound propagation and applications in technology, medicine and fisheries.

The purpose of these meetings is primarily to stimulate contacts and exchange information between different Scandinavian teams working in this research area. Although the symposium is Scandinavian, foreign participants are most welcome, and the meeting language will be English. As usual, we expect a rather informal tone, the main goal being to create contacts, not only during sessions, but also by social activities, indoors and outdoors (cross country and downhill skiing). The meeting normally attracts about 50 participants holding about 25 talks throughout 5 sessions.

We plan to follow the same schedule as for earlier meetings: Arrival on Sunday, with opening of the meeting in the evening. There will be morning and afternoon sessions on Monday and Tuesday, and a morning session on Wednesday. Contributed talks of 15-25 minutes length are welcome. The final program will be distributed to the participants by the beginning of January 2016.

Those who wish to participate are kindly requested to register as soon as possible, and no later than December 20. Please indicate time of arrival and departure, single/double room, any accompanying persons, and the title of the talk if you intend to give one. There is no registration fee, and the participants are expected to pay their bills directly to the hotel at the end of the stay. Stays outside of the meeting period have to be arranged by direct contact with the hotel.

If you are interested in registering, please send an email to You can also download the official invitation here, or have a look at the program and proceedings from 2015, 2014, and 2013.